Now Reading
Nations with anti-LGBT laws: 52% Muslim, 42% Christian

Nations with anti-LGBT laws: 52% Muslim, 42% Christian

Many Christian-majority nations dropped anti-gay laws, Muslim nations haven’t

CLICK to receive an email notice of each new Erasing 76 Crimes article

More than half of the world’s 67 countries that have anti-LGBT laws are nations where a majority of the citizens are Muslims. By comparison, Christian-majority countries account for 42 percent of the countries that still have anti-LGBT laws on their books.

Of the 67-nation total of nations with anti-homosexuality laws,  52 percent (35 countries, by this site’s tally) have a Muslim majority.

Majority-Christian countries account for 42 percent of the total (28 countries).

In recent years, the number of Christian-majority nations with anti-homosexuality laws has shrunk, both through court rulings (Barbados, St. Kitts and Nevis and Antigua and Barbuda in 2022; Trinidad in 2018; Belize in 2016) and through legislative action (Cook Islands in 2023, Singapore in 2022, Angola and Botswana in 2019, Seychelles and Nauru in 2016, Mozambique, São Tomé and Príncipe, and Palau in 2014).

Similar laws have been dropped in Buddhist-majority Bhutan (2021) and in Hindu-majority India (2018).

However, no Muslim-majority nation has acted recently to repeal an anti-LGBT law.

Map of the 67 countries where sexual relations between people of the same sex are illegal. YELLOW countries have sodomy laws that are currently being challenged before local courts. Sri Lanka, in PINK, currently has a bill before its parliament to repeal its sodomy law. Indonesia, in ORANGE, has laws that criminalize homosexuality only in some subnational jurisdictions. All states in RED have nationwide sodomy laws and no known efforts to remove them.

For technical reasons (keeping the original story’s Internet address unchanged to allow easy online searches), this article mirrors a newly updated Erasing 76 Crimes page, also titled   “Nations with anti-LGBT laws: 52% Muslim, 42% Christian“.

See Also

Here are the nations in each category:

Muslim majority

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Algeria
  3. Bangladesh
  4. Brunei
  5. Chad
  6. Comoros
  7. Egypt
  8. Eritrea
  9. Ethiopia
  10. Gambia
  11. Indonesia (Aceh Province and South Sumatra only)
  12. Iran
  13. Iraq
  14. Kuwait
  15. Lebanon (law ruled invalid in one court in 2014 and disqualified for use against same-sex intimacy in another court in 2017)
  16. Libya
  17. Malaysia
  18. Maldives
  19. Mauritania
  20. Morocco
  21. Oman
  22. Pakistan
  23. Palestine/Gaza Strip — lacking broad international recognition as a country
  24. Qatar
  25. Saudi Arabia
  26. Senegal
  27. Somalia
  28. South Sudan
  29. Sudan
  30. Syria
  31. Tunisia
  32. Turkmenistan
  33. United Arab Emirates
  34. Uzbekistan
  35. Yemen

Christian majority

Most, if not all, of these countries inherited their laws from the period when they were British colonies.

  1. Barbados
  2. Burundi
  3. Cameroon
  4. Dominica (But see “Dominica leader: No enforcement of anti-gay law” )
  5. Ghana
  6. Grenada
  7. Guinea
  8. Guyana
  9. Jamaica
  10. Kenya
  11. Kiribati
  12. Liberia
  13. Malawi
  14. Namibia
  15. Papua New Guinea
  16. Samoa
  17. Solomon Islands
  18. Sierra Leone
  19. St. Lucia
  20. St Vincent & the Grenadines
  21. Swaziland / Eswatini
  22. Tanzania
  23. Togo
  24. Tonga
  25. Tuvalu
  26. Uganda
  27. Zambia
  28. Zimbabwe


  1. Mauritius
  2. Myanmar
  3. Nigeria — roughly 50-50 Christian-Muslim
  4. Sri Lanka
View Comment (1)
  • Interesting article, thanks! Most of the countries currently considering repeal are also Christian majority countries in the Caribbean region and Namibia. You can remove Barbados from the list of Christian majority nations with a sodomy law as Barbados repealed theirs in 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top